Join 3,562 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Star Light, Star Bright
August 10, 2011 7:41 PM   Subscribe

Calling all Long Island/New York amateur astronomers! Which of these two sites has the least light pollution -- or is there really no difference?

So I'm snagging a Zipcar at 3 am on Saturday morning, which is the peak of the Perseid meteor shower this year -- I plan on driving out from Brooklyn to either Jones Beach or Robert Moses, watching the shower, and then driving back at dawn.

However -- on the one hand, I want the best show possible, with the least light pollution. But on the other, I'd like an easy drive, because -- I'm an infrequent driver who's going to be trying to navigate the LIE at 4 am.

Jones Beach looks a little easier to get to, but i've heard Robert Moses is better from a low-light standpoint. How much of a difference between the two is there? is it worth driving further out to Robert Moses?

Are there any other tips anyone has (i.e., Jones Beach has more cops and I may get a ticket for trespassing or something)?
posted by EmpressCallipygos to Science & Nature (16 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

Is there any chance of getting a motel room out east, and going to Custer Observatory? I may be heading out there, but I am already halfway through Long Island.
posted by kellyblah at 8:16 PM on August 10, 2011

Can't speak from personal experience, but according to Dark Sky Finder, Robert Moses is slightly better. Whether that's significant for the Perseids or not, I don't know.
posted by greatgefilte at 8:17 PM on August 10, 2011

Robert Moses is a bit farther from NYC but at that point I would think long island would be a bigger source light pollution. But either way ocean park way always has light traffic, so it's not as far as it seems.
posted by ihadapony at 8:27 PM on August 10, 2011