Join 3,411 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Should I apply to this position in another team or just let it go and try new company?
August 10, 2011 12:24 PM   Subscribe

Should I apply to this position in another team or just let it go and try new company? Please suggest.

I work as a consultant, my work is finishing up in less than 2 months and the team decided not to extend my work. And an oppurtunity to work for a different team in the same city/same company has come up.

The reason my work is wrapping up, is I am quoting my manager "Team decided to cut back the budget we can allocate and ur performance is not a major factor in the decision" Okay, now if I apply to the new position in the same company, obviously my current manager would be contacted for reference that is expected.

Given what my manager told me the words "not a major factor" bothers me in how he will respond to the other team.

Should I apply to this position or just let it go and try new company?

Please suggest.
posted by daveg02 to Work & Money (8 answers total)

Do you have a good reason not to go for that other position?
posted by Tomorrowful at 12:25 PM on August 10, 2011 [1 favorite]

You might as well apply - what have you got to lose? Even if you don't get it, you may get an interview which will give you the opportunity to practice interviewing skills at the very least.
posted by hazyjane at 12:33 PM on August 10, 2011 [1 favorite]

I would apply AND try applying at new companies.
posted by sweetkid at 12:35 PM on August 10, 2011 [1 favorite]

I think my manager's rating of me would be like this "not dissappointed, but not impressed either, definetly should be proactive"

I do not know how people would seek ex-team's manager referral in the same company,
how much would this kind of feedback would hurt my chance even if I do well in the interview.

Thats my concern.
posted by daveg02 at 12:47 PM on August 10, 2011