Join 3,557 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

The description I'm going for is probably "pre-gentrified"
August 5, 2011 10:59 AM   Subscribe

Help me find the new Greenwich Village/San Francisco/artist community that hasn't been gentrified yet. Do artist communities exist now that the Internet has taken over all other forms of communication?

I live in the cultural wasteland that is South Orange County, California. I would really like to move out of California. Is NYC still The Place Where Artists Must Live? Or is it past its prime? The New York Times tells me Detroit is undergoing a renaissance.

I'm a photographer and writer, 23 years old. What I really need is a community, other people to talk to and make art with; a place with tons of galleries and arts events, book readings, and a general atmosphere of creativity. Somewhere that is relatively cheap to live and has job opportunities for someone with a scatter-shot job/colleges attended history.

Where is the most interesting art coming from? For editors, where is the best literary work being submitted from? It can be a school since I'm looking into applying to art schools.

I know the standard answers: Portland ("Portland is where young people go to retire"), NYC.... Where else?
posted by book 'em dano to Media & Arts (18 answers total) 6 users marked this as a favorite

Is NYC still The Place Where Artists Must Live? Or is it past its prime?

You've got about ten minutes left before realtors stop advertising Bushwick as "East Williamsburg."
posted by griphus at 11:01 AM on August 5, 2011 [3 favorites]

Is NYC still The Place Where Artists Must Live?

Yes.
posted by mattbucher at 11:05 AM on August 5, 2011 [1 favorite]

Upon re-reading it, I just realized what I wrote might not make any sense to you. Basically, if you want to be involved in the arts community in NYC, move to Bushwick and be prepared to move.
posted by griphus at 11:07 AM on August 5, 2011 [1 favorite]