Join 3,563 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

New word processing programme
July 21, 2011 8:41 AM   Subscribe

Is it worth it to buy Microsoft Office 2011 to run on my OS X Lion Macbook?

I just upgraded my Macbook Pro to Lion, and now Microsoft Word (2004, I believe) does not work. Should I bother to buy the 2011 Office for Mac or should I download something like OpenOffice (or any other suggestion)? If I do switch to another programme, will I be able to open old documents? Further info: I'm moving to the UK in about a month for school - in case that affects my options.
posted by Partario to Computers & Internet (21 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

I have a copy of 2011 that I got because I have an MS Technet subscription. It's slick, but for my home use I really don't need the feature bloat that it has over Open Office and find myself using the latter. If you're a student, you could qualify for pretty steep discounts on Office 2011, though. I wouldn't recommend anyone pay full price for it out of their own pocket.
posted by Horselover Phattie at 8:49 AM on July 21, 2011

It seems like there are some interesting features of Lion (like the "Time Machine" for documents, and being able to quit without having to save open documents) that applications have to be made to take advantage of. AFAIK Office 2011 isn't, so if I were in your position I wouldn't shell out for any major software until Lion-optimized versions are released, if I can possibly help it.
posted by Pants McCracky at 8:49 AM on July 21, 2011

Also, Open Office doesn't have trouble with all kinds of older file formats.
posted by Horselover Phattie at 8:50 AM on July 21, 2011

I've been using openoffice for years instead of paying for MS Office. I'd be at a loss to tell you what I've given up by not paying for MS Office.
posted by deadweightloss at 9:02 AM on July 21, 2011