Join 3,415 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

LaTeX for SOPs?
July 7, 2011 8:06 AM   Subscribe

Resources for learning LaTeX templating for SOPs?

I'd like to revisit how we currently handle SOPs (Standard Operating Procedures) in a business environment. Right now it's all Word documents, and it's a huge disaster for the usual reasons Word is a disaster: hard to edit, different versions, fighting Word's "features", difficult to maintain a consistent style, etc.,

It looks like LaTeX may be a great solution to some of these problems because of the separation of content from presentation, and the ability to use plain-text files.

I've found dozens of sites with LaTeX templates for academic environments, but very few for corporate environments. Our needs are really very simple, but I'd like to avoid re-creating things if possible, especially as I'm new to LaTeX.

What are your resources for learning LaTeX? Are there existing business templates for SOPs? These types of documents are fairly straightforward, requiring consistent headers, footers, a TOC, a signature listing, and some other generic components.
posted by odinsdream to Computers & Internet (10 answers total) 4 users marked this as a favorite

I used the memoir class to write a couple of reports. The class's documentation is written with the actual class, and is full of examples.
posted by stereo at 8:48 AM on July 7, 2011

For what it's worth, I highly recommend the Not so short introduction to Latex. I don't have many classes to throw your way, but at least this will get you started.
posted by virga at 9:20 AM on July 7, 2011

I remember using this site a lot when I was first getting into LaTeX as a mathematics graduate student.