Join 3,556 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Calling all med students, past and present
June 29, 2011 9:00 AM   Subscribe

Thinking back to medical school classes like Biochemistry and Pharmacology, how much foundational knowledge did you actually use from your undergrad courses in related subjects? Was it important to walk in being able to solve all of the kinds of problems you’d see in general chemistry and physics, or were concepts more important? I am trying to understand how much ‘general’ review is required for success before someone who has been admitted actually starts a medical school program.
posted by mockjovial to Education (3 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

I am not an MD, but I have a PhD in biochem, have TAd and tutored med school biochem classes, and have done quite a bit of teaching of chemistry (general and organic) to premeds.

I also have several friends who are MDs who couldn't do a synthetic organic chemistry problem at gunpoint, and the last MD I befriended socially actually made loud fake retching noises when I told her I had taught organic chem. ;)

For med school biochemistry classes, for sure, knowing the principles of general and organic chemistry are going to be hugely helpful. pH, pKa, hydrogen bond donors/acceptors, structure and reactivity, the whole schmear. This will be especially helpful in studying metabolism (all those freaking pathways, you will be helped by having a sense of *why* things react the way they do rather than just full-bore memorization, though there will be enough of that anyway) but it also comes into play in protein science, enzymology, nucleic acid stuff.

Can't speak so much to pharmacology, but I have to imagine that a firm grounding in chem will be helpful in understanding PK/PD at least, structural classifications of different drugs, modulation of function with structure.