Join 3,494 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Help me acquire a protective machete to conquer the dark forests of career despair.
June 28, 2011 9:59 AM   Subscribe

How do I stay motivated in applying for jobs when, after a year, even looking at a job description or approaching a cover letter gives me an overwhelming sense of doom and failure?

I graduated in June of 2010 with a Bachelor's degree in International Studies and expected that it would take me a few months, at the most, to find a job. I'd had several internships, an editorial position at the school paper, and a thesis with honors -- decent experience, I thought.

And yet... over the past year, no professional, "first" job. A job through the school ended last September, and since then, I have had some movement -- work in a coffee shop, internship in DC, and now, in a new city, a job in a bookstore (where I currently work) -- but no salaried, entry-level position that might offer me the chance to move up and gain some kind of professional "foot in the door." I've had a half-dozen interviews, mostly through friends' references, but even in these I often felt that the interviewer was only half paying attention somehow (even an interview I managed to get on my own went this way for some reason).

The first six months, this seemed par for the course. After that, I started to get a little traumatized. At the end of my internship (April), I made it clear I would love to work for the organization, and two of my supervisors and a woman from HR seemed sincerely interested in helping me; however, I have applied to a number of appropriate entry-level positions there in the meantime, informed them, even sent them my materials, and gotten very little traction. It's an extremely competitive organization (in a competitive economy) but I'm starting to internalize the idea that in reality they didn't really give much of a shit about me -- that I was one of the many dispensable interns.