Join 3,558 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

It could have been a brilliant career
June 25, 2011 4:16 PM   Subscribe

I have a bachelor's degree in computer science, and now I want to get a job. So far so good, and now for the bad part: I finished the degree over six years ago and haven't held a job since. Can I still get a job in IT?

After graduating I moved to a new city and wanted to get my master's. Things didn't work out as planned, I took some courses and passed some but spiraled into a deep depression. I dropped out, and then it was just me and my depression. I've had some treatment but I am by no means cured. I'm still down, pessimistic, passive, tired. Going back to uni and finishing my master's is something I'm not considering at the moment. I think that would end about as well as last time. I need to make a living and I think I'd be able to hold down a normal job (I've been doing some volunteering the past few months, menial work, and that went okay).

I would like to work in the field I've studied in (I do like software development), but I'm not sure how feasible it is. As I've mentioned it's been over six years since I got my degree and I have a big gaping hole in my CV after that and no compelling story to fill it with. I'm worried that my degree has become worthless. With exception of the volunteer work the last few months I have nothing to show for these past years.

Is it likely I'd be able to get a job in IT? How? And if no, what would be some alternatives?

I should mention that I have some social anxiety issues, so helpdesk and things like that wouldn't be a good idea. And I live in Europe in case it matters.
posted by anonymous to Work & Money (12 answers total) 7 users marked this as a favorite