Join 3,561 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Web Copywriting Tips
June 21, 2011 3:12 AM   Subscribe

What are your top tips and resources to help me write the most amazing website copy ever?

I'm a professional copywriter, but I've never done a website before. I now have to put together an eight-page website on a tradesman and his products. Assume that I could figure it out for myself, but that I'd really like any extra advice I can get.

The guy in question doesn't really know what he wants, which gives me free rein (don't worry, I've got that potential recipe for disaster under control). I know the basics of SEO, so that's not really an issue - I am looking for resources that are aimed at professionals who want to create amazing sites that are worth reading, not just get clicks. Any info appreciated, from deciding how to structure the website onwards.
posted by rubbish bin night to Writing & Language (9 answers total) 24 users marked this as a favorite

It's like anything else: you have to tell a compelling story.

Why is this tradesman interesting? What thrills him about his products? Tell me, so I know too.
posted by orthogonality at 3:13 AM on June 21, 2011

The opinions and ideas about what works on the web are legion, but orthogonality has the core idea - you've got to tell a story.

Here's a good post on 37 Signals about the difference between two different sites both selling broadly the same thing - bags. The difference is in the story one tells versus the features list approach the other goes for.
posted by Happy Dave at 4:18 AM on June 21, 2011

The yahoo style guide might be worth a read. You can get a printed copy but it's also online at http://styleguide.yahoo.com/
posted by beyond_pink at 4:24 AM on June 21, 2011

I highly recommend this book. It will help you make a better website.

Letting Go of the Words: Writing Web Content that Works.
posted by ArcAm at 4:27 AM on June 21, 2011