To CMS or to Do Something Else
June 20, 2011 5:47 AM   Subscribe

Is a CMS just for publishing websites, or would a web app site want one, too?

I'm a desktop app programmer trying to enter the crazy and befuddling world of web development. I'm making a web app that lets users create cartoons. It would be nice if these cartoons could be shared on the site, kind of like how videos are shared on Youtube or pictures are shared on Flickr.

I don't want to reinvent the wheel for common website features like registration, account management and searching. Is this the kind of thing a CMS is for, or do you just use a framework for that sort of thing? Or some other tool or technology I'm not aware of?
posted by giggleknickers to Computers & Internet (5 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

If you're not going to be publishing a blog, you probably don't need a CMS, but something like Rails or Django might be useful for bootstrapping that kind of thing.
posted by empath at 5:53 AM on June 20, 2011

A Content Management System is just that. It's a backend that handles your content, so that you can create a more-or-less static page (template) with placeholders for the content.

(Very, very basic overview: this page, on the mefi server, would look something like:

Get subdomain config, set background color to $subdomain.backgroundcolor
Display $subdomain.header
Display $article.title
Display $article.dateandtime
Display $article content

indent

for x in get comments
display $x.comment
display "posted by" $x.username "at" a href=$x.permalink $x.time /a "on" $x.date $x.favorite $x.flag
end

So it seems to me like a CMS is exactly what you need, so that you can display dynamic content without having to create a new page for each permutation of the content. But how to implement it or which one to choose is another story.
posted by gjc at 7:45 AM on June 20, 2011