Please help me maximize this job opportunity
June 13, 2011 6:48 AM   Subscribe

Tools for process improvement, quality monitoring and reporting/metrics?

Help me maximize this opportunity

After managing people for 15+ years, I'm in a new position. I'm now responsible for a number of operational aspects of running a technical support group, including, but not limited to:

- reporting and metrics
- quality control
- root cause analysis
- process improvement

I'll be working side-by-side with the managers of the group to provide them with information, advice and direction. This is a new position in our organization, and because upper management already trusts me, I have significant latitude to implement things as I see fit.

I have lots of informal experience with each of these area, since I've been managing the people side of technical support groups. But now I'm looking for additional resources or information that can provide me with opportunities to develop my skills along more formal lines. I'm pretty good with math and Excel, and I have joined the ASQ (American Society for Quality), and will be taking a few of their courses. I've been looking around online and in libraries, but there's a lot to take in, and a lot that seems sub-par.

So please tell me about books, Websites, training classes or other resources that can provide information about tools, tips and techniques along any of the above-listed lines. I'm more interested in the practical than the theoretical in the short term (since they want me to start producing now), but I'd also like to learn the theory as well. And upper management doesn't want me to take any Six Sigma training, so that's off the table.

Thanks all, for your input.
posted by Gorgik to Work & Money (6 answers total) 5 users marked this as a favorite