Join 3,552 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Tags:

What exactly do you do after a fender-bender?
June 12, 2011 6:13 PM   Subscribe

I feel like everybody else in America knows this, but what, precisely, do I need to do if I'm in a minor car accident?

A friend of mine was in a very minor fender-bender the other day, and it made me realize that, even though I've been driving for nearly 10 years, I have no idea what I would need to do if I were in a minor fender-bender. In a serious accident, I'd call 911 and the police and paramedics would do their thing. But suppose I'm in a minor fender-bender in which no one is hurt and damage is minor. What do I need to do?

Obviously, pull off the road and exchange information, but besides the driver's name, what information is needed? Do we sort out who was at fault at the scene of the accident? What is the threshold for when you should / should not call the police? Do you need to contact your insurance company from the side of the road, or can you do that later in the day? Any other advice?
posted by fogster to Law & Government (19 answers total) 15 users marked this as a favorite

In most states, you're required to contact the police. In Michigan, if the damage is over $100 (I believe this is still the amount) you are required to make a police report.

My advice:

Check for injuries, if there are any, attend to that first.

Call the police.

Never "sort out who is at fault' you could do or say something that would shift liability to you. If you're calling the police, let the other driver know that is the case, then get back into your car (or a safe place) and wait for the police to arrive. You can call your insurance company when you get home.
posted by tomswift at 6:18 PM on June 12, 2011

I've been in a fender bender where the driver at fault just offered to pay cash in order to keep the insurance companies out of the loop.