Join 3,556 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

What is the scientific phrase for "abnormally long menstrual period"?
June 4, 2011 7:13 PM   Subscribe

What is/are the scientific search term(s) for "abnormally long menstrual period" or "unusually long menstrual period"?

I have been menstruating heavily non-stop for 3 months, 13 days.
No relevant prior medical conditions other than polycystic ovary syndrome.

I am seeing a gynaecologist to try different treatment options to stop the bleeding, but so far nothing that we have tried has worked.

I want to be able to search resources like the Cochrane Library to find out more about my different treatment options and their success rates (and also to see if I can find additional treatment options that my gynaecologist hasn't yet mentioned), but I am not sure what search term(s) to use to describe "abnormally long menstrual period" or "unusually long menstrual period."

Thank you! ^_^
posted by anonymous to Science & Nature (8 answers total)

Menorrhagia?
posted by Metroid Baby at 7:15 PM on June 4, 2011 [1 favorite]

Or Menometrorrhagia, or Metrorrhagia, or hypermenorrhea?
posted by brainmouse at 7:18 PM on June 4, 2011 [2 favorites]

This can be a touchy subject for some, but did the doctor check your hormone levels? I once bled for a long time, took a pregnancy test and it was negative. Turns out I had a miscarriage, and my hormone levels were faint enough that an OTC test didn't show anything, but the doctor could tell.
posted by your mom's a sock puppet at 7:22 PM on June 4, 2011

This is not the term you're looking for, but you should ask your doctor about endometriosis. I used to get reaaally heavy periods that lasted too long (not three months long, though, my god that sounds awful), and my gyns have all said I probably have endometriosis. HBC has made my life so much better.