Skip

How to jazz up recipe search engine pages with graphics?
June 4, 2011 9:22 AM   Subscribe

I am looking for design inspiration for the recipe search engine that I'm working on. Specifically, how do I jazz up the recipe pages with graphics when I cannot use the original recipe text or dish photos? It has to be something generic to food/cooking.

This is related to my recipe site. I have decided it will be a recipe search engine with a small selection of dishes. To avoid copyright issues, I've decided to only display a short description and link to the original source.
posted by Foci for Analysis to Computers & Internet (14 answers total)

I think colorful images of cooking utensils and other tools used in cooking/baking/grilling would be pleasing to look at.

A random search for "free icons cooking" turned these up, which I like. I'm no designer though, so YMMV.
posted by SuperSquirrel at 9:44 AM on June 4, 2011

Thanks for the suggestion, SuperSquirrel!

I forgot to mention that the visual design of the site is fairly minimalistic in black, white and some red with plenty of whitespace and minimal features and info architecture.
posted by Foci for Analysis at 9:51 AM on June 4, 2011

Can you use stock pictures to represent the search terms used? Like, I'm imagining searching for, say, "grilled chicken quesadilla." The results or recipe page could show:

[picture of grill] + [picture of chicken] + [picture of quesadilla] = resulting recipe.
posted by that's how you get ants at 9:53 AM on June 4, 2011

interesting idea, that's how you get ants. I think Flickr has an API you can use for stuff like this, it would create more dynamic recipe pages. Will check this.
posted by Foci for Analysis at 10:02 AM on June 4, 2011