Working for the Weekend?
June 3, 2011 4:45 PM   Subscribe

Which job would you choose?

Two job offers that I need to decide on very soon:

Background: I'm a certified middle school teacher. I had a terrible experience at my last school - I basically hated every day of it. However, it was my first year, at a very tough charter school in a very tough neighborhood of DC. I have two offers on the table - one as a teacher and one at a nonprofit.

Job 1: Similar charter school in Sacramento, which is close to my family. Would be teaching similar material. PROS: Close to home, lower cost of living, lots of paid vacation. CONS: It's in Sacramento, requires lots and lots of hours, the school doesn't really have it's act together. Also, I'm afraid to repeat the terrible experience of last year.

Job 2: Working in a nonprofit in SF as an Americorps VISTA member. PROS: The job sounds amazing, atmosphere at the office is fun, I love SF, the hours are reasonable. CONS: Basically would be paid nothing and it would be a real financial difficulty.

I'm really torn. I don't WANT to give up teaching after one year, but I also don't want to sign myself onto something that has the potential to be really, really miserable. I don't WANT to barely squeak by financially, but I would do it if I loved my job.

Advice?

And yes, I feel extremely lucky to be in this position - two offers! I know many of my friends and family are struggling to come by one.
posted by anonymous to Work & Money (19 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

If you don't have any money or any family nearby then the better hours will become a moot point. I would take the lower cost of living, higher pay and familiarity. That way when you do get a break you'll have the means to truly enough it!

It might *not* be as bad as you think it will be.
posted by pink candy floss at 4:50 PM on June 3, 2011