Join 3,414 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Tags:

Speech advice
June 2, 2011 10:06 AM   Subscribe

I'm the best man at a wedding this weekend, and I have to give a toast.

Although it's an honor that my friend chose me as his number one, he keeps chiding me that he expects some grand 10 minute oration. I think he's only half-kidding. But I know from experience that I'm not good at public speaking. I can't speak extemporaneously, and reciting speeches off of paper is flat and awkward. I don't think I'm going to be able to deliver effective jokes, etc, even though that seems important. I don't even have anecdotes to tell that older people would understand.

Is there a way to do this that doesn't seem like I'm just blowing off the toast with a glib 30 second "cheers" because I'm lazy or don't care?
posted by anonymous to Human Relations (26 answers total) 7 users marked this as a favorite

It doesn't have to be long, but it should be emotional and heartfelt. Begin with a slightly embarrassing anecdote about the groom (keyword SLIGHTLY. Nothing off-color or immoral). Then explain some way in which the groom has been bettered as a person by his relationship with the bride, and (ideally) how that improvement makes him a better, more fun friend to be around.

Write it in advance and practice it several dozen times in front of a mirror and then several more times in front of actual people. Speak more loudly and more slowly than seems natural to you and it will sound good to the audience.
posted by Rock Steady at 10:21 AM on June 2, 2011