Skip

Belated tax confusion
May 19, 2011 10:07 PM   Subscribe

Why did I seem to pay much less taxes as an independent contractor vs. a regular employee, making roughly the same hourly wage?

I work in the green industry, and last year worked as an independent contractor for a local farm. Boss said I would work as an independent contractor to save him the hassle and paperwork of making me a regular employee. So I never had any taxes taken out of my checks. When it came time for taxes this year, I actually got money back from the fed (through some govt. program), and only had $200 due to the state. I would say I made roughly $6k working for this business.

I'm now working as a full-time employee for a nursery. I've already made close to $6k working there, making only a slightly higher hourly rate, and have well over $1500 taken out of my paychecks in taxes. This is more like what I thought my tax obligations would be when I filed my 1099 in April.

Could someone make sense of this for me? I can't remember the name of the federal program which got me the refund this year, but it was some sort of low-income deal I believe. Either way - if my income is similar it doesn't explain the discrepancy.

Thanks! I feel dumb
posted by anonymous to Work & Money (6 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

You probably benefited from the Earned Income Tax Credit last year.

This year either you're making too much money to be expected to qualify for the EITC again, or your withholding is too high and you'll get a big refund back.

The income isn't similar if you made $6k all year last year but you've already make $6k so far this year, as you're expected to continue earning at that rate for the rest of the year (and thus would end up grossing close to $18k total if you do). So last year you paid taxes on $6k, but this year you're expected to pay taxes on $18k.
posted by Jacqueline at 10:19 PM on May 19, 2011 [2 favorites]