Join 3,514 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Professional options for a burned out lawyer?
May 11, 2011 6:50 PM   Subscribe

Help me get out of the legal profession, before it kills me.

So, I've been a personal injury defense attorney in NYC for about 12 years now. Unfortunately, it took me that long to realize how much I hate it. Too many conflicting obligations and deadlines, too much to keep track of. The stress is just too much, and I'm not handling it well anymore.

The problem is, I'm 40 years old, have bills to pay, and have never really done anything else. I went right from working crap retail jobs to law school, and it took me a very long time to acknowledge what a bad idea this has all been.

So, I need some helpful advice as to where to go next. What sort of avenues of employment can a lawyer burned out on the profession actually reasonably seek out, and have a decent chance of obtaining a decently paying job? I have no real ideas at this point, am on the verge of intense depression, and could really use some advice.

Throwaway email if necessary: legalburnout@gmail.com
posted by anonymous to Work & Money (13 answers total) 5 users marked this as a favorite

Work for an insurance company?
posted by blargerz at 7:02 PM on May 11, 2011

Would there be a different, less stressful area of law that you can switch to until you can figure this out? I realize you want out of the profession completely, but perhaps you need to transition out....

Also, it would be helpful to know what your idea of a "decently paying job" means. For someone like me, a school counselor, that would be about 50K a year. I suspect you may not find that decent at all.
posted by Sal and Richard at 7:06 PM on May 11, 2011