Join 3,572 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Tags:

Where and when to see aurora borealis¹ in 2012?
May 8, 2011 9:59 AM   Subscribe

I would like to see the Northern Lights at some point in 2012. When and where should I go to maximise my chances?

I'm in the UK so somewhere in Northern Europe would be cheaper to get to, but I understand that Alaska and Northern Canda are also good. As a typical British adult I don't speak any language other than English, so please bear that in mind. My girlfriend isn't that fussed about seeing the aurora so it would be good if it was in an area where there is plenty of other stuff to do.

Does time of year make much of a difference to observing aurora? I'm a teacher so I'm only able to go during the school holidays: three weeks at Christmas and Easter and six weeks in the summer. How long do I need to go for to have a reasonable chance of seeing aurora?

¹ I'm not adverse to looking for the aurora australis but I understand that's a bit more difficult, and it would be further to go.
posted by alby to Travel & Transportation (14 answers total) 24 users marked this as a favorite

Tromsø holds an annual Northern Lights Festival around the end of January. There's a lot of cruises and such as well.
posted by dhartung at 10:04 AM on May 8, 2011 [1 favorite]

I live in an area in Northern Canada where I've seen it quite frequently. I can't give advice as to the best place for you to go see it but I wanted to point out that it's going to have to be in the colder months in the Northern Hemisphere as during the summer it pretty much doesn't get dark enough for it to be visible. I actually subscribe to an Aurora Watch alert but when I get the alerts this time of year it feels like a terrible tease.
posted by mireille at 10:06 AM on May 8, 2011