Join 3,501 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

much ado about nuthin'.
April 28, 2011 4:04 PM   Subscribe

What do you do in your downtime in the office?

I've been a freelancer for about 90% of my career in my current profession (this is a span of about 10 years). I'm currently a few days into a new 3 month contract working in a creative department for a global sportswear manufacturer—and I am hoping it will turn into a longer contract or, ideally, a full-time gig because it's a great company to work for and I really like my boss a lot. I want to impress him so that will happen. However, as with new people, and also probably because there's just some downtime right now in the department (and I realize there will be crazy manic times of non-stop work as well), I just haven't had a whole lot to do so far. I have been given a couple of small projects which I have finished rather quickly and I am told I will be given more…in the meantime though, I've spent the bulk of my days so far with nothing really to do, except cruise the internet, reading my email, the company's news/blog, the news, askme, and facebook.