Join 3,562 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Meditation Freakout
April 10, 2011 4:40 PM   Subscribe

You are not my therapist but maybe you know about meditation? I'm back into my mindful meditation routine and I'm fairly new at it. The last three sittings I've had have brought up intense tears and a body sensation that screams RUN AWAY which usually causes me to stop that session as it is too intense. Of course I'll bring this up with my therapist but that appointment is a wee ways off. Is this common? Something I should be afraid of? Something I should stop meditating because of? Why would this occur? How do I get thru the intense panic and return to the breath?
posted by kanata to Health & Fitness (15 answers total) 19 users marked this as a favorite

Yes, it's common. The brain is used to being constantly distracted, and it gets freaked out sometimes if it's not. How long are you sitting for? Beginners should really only do 5-10 minutes. I don't see any need to push through it if you are a beginner; you don't want to develop a negative association with it. Are you doing this through a school or meditation center? Do you have a sangha? Talk to someone there. You don't need to do this alone.
posted by desjardins at 4:56 PM on April 10, 2011 [1 favorite]

Mark Epstein (Buddhist psychotherapist) discusses this phenomenon a bit in Thoughts Without a Thinker, which you might find helpful to read.
posted by scody at 5:07 PM on April 10, 2011 [3 favorites]

Definitely bring it up with your therapist, but you might want to gently poke around the edges here in the meantime. What you want to do is find a way to get to the edge of that scary sensation and hover there, as it were.