Skip

The Power of Excel Compels You!
March 24, 2011 3:45 PM   Subscribe

Help me pass a test using Excel (special snowflake banking industry questions inside).

I’m in the middle of a rather Byzantine interview process for a position as a strategic analyst in the market risk department for a boutique transportation bank. The next step is a two-hour, on site test “using” Excel this coming Monday. I’m to bring my own laptop (OS X, Excel Office version 2008) but will have no Internet access; it wouldn’t surprise me one bit if they have their own Faraday cage. I think they will simply hand me some data and ask me to make projections or analyze causes based on the data.

I am a very basic (no pun intended) Excel user who is familiar with what it can do but hasn't had to construct many formulae, marcos, etc. before. Here is where you can help.

Given that this test will be about market risk: What should I study for my self-taught crash course in Excel over the weekend? What’s most generally useful to know in this environment, e.g., pivot tables?

I’ve been through all 600-something posts tagged with, “Excel” here on the green and developed a great list of Excel training resources, but of course I welcome links to any resources I might have missed.
posted by digitalprimate to Computers & Internet (8 answers total) 4 users marked this as a favorite

vlookup
posted by en forme de poire at 5:08 PM on March 24, 2011 [1 favorite]

(though you've probably seen that, sorry! still, I was going to post it before seeing that it had been previously discussed here)
posted by en forme de poire at 5:09 PM on March 24, 2011

Thinking about areas you'll want to know about

1-Data import and cleanup
A- import data from odbc, csv, tab delimited and other formats
B- locate duplicate records, and duplicate partial records
C-locate bad rows, invalid dates, unexpected data (eg text where number is expected)
D-merging different record sets