Join 3,514 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

What does it take to establish oneself as an importer into the US?
March 16, 2011 9:56 PM   Subscribe

What does it take to establish oneself as an importer into the US?

A relative of mine lives in Israel and has been manufacturing and selling a number of products, including (so far): honey, soap, chapstick, and liqueurs. It's a family business, so the quantities are relatively small, but this is more than just a hobby for him.

His products have a market in the US and I'd like to help him sell his products here. Since I live in the US and am an American citizen, I've been wondering if I could set myself up as an importer in order to market his products here.

Here's what I'm wondering:
- First: Is this economically feasible, or are the various important taxes prohibitively high? Are the start-up costs expensive?
- Second: Since I am a full-time student, would the day-to-day operating of an import business simply take too much time?
- Third: Is there a major different between the products that he is selling for import purposes? I assume that the alcohol has its own rules.

Any good books/websites on the topic would be equally appreciated.
posted by dzkalman to Work & Money (3 answers total) 4 users marked this as a favorite

Here's a place to start: http://www.cbp.gov/xp/cgov/trade/basic_trade/
posted by Grimp0teuthis at 10:25 PM on March 16, 2011

The US-Israel Free Trade Agreement will likely work in your favor to reduce the burdens of import tariffs, but for certain categories of imports (certainly alcohol), you will need clearance from agencies other than CBP (USDA/FDA/ATF/EPA, etc.). The Depending on the size of the shipments coming in, you will also likely need the assistance of a customs broker, whose (necessary) services may come at a pretty penny.

Useful links on the Customs and Border Patrol web page: Tips for new importers, and Importing into the United States.