Join 3,368 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

How do I make an app?
March 12, 2011 3:51 PM   Subscribe

Questions about iPad app development.

I have a ton of questions here that come from my basic question of "How do I publish an ipad app in the apple store?"

I have an idea for a VERY simple app. Its useful for a very small group of people, including myself.

How do I develop it, publish it in the app store, and get money for it (if possible)? I don't see more than 500 people using this app, so I'm not doing it for the money. Of those 500 people, it is probably most useful for me. So it is worth it to me to have this app developed, even if I lose money on it.

Its EXTREMELY simple. I have no development background, so I don't know what to call it but basically:
The user would input text: Bananas
The ipad would display text: Bananas in pajamas
or
The user would input text: Oranges
The ipad would display text: Oranges in pajamas

I'm not giving away details on it here, but its basically the above idea.

It would not need ANY updates for at least 5 years, so releasing a version after the initial isn't necessary at all if it works correctly.

Can I make it myself? Is it that easy to do? Do I need to pay some kind of fees and become a apple developer or what? Or do I need to hire a professional to do this? Could I get someone to develop it, publish it, and fix the bugs without them getting any ownership in it? Could I publish it in a specific country's app store, the US's app store, or worldwide?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks, mefites.
posted by hal_c_on to Computers & Internet (11 answers total) 11 users marked this as a favorite

It is much much much faster and cheaper to create a web page with the same functionality and with a iPad/iPod/iPhone specific layout, just like 37signals does instead of creating an app.

You can add a web page to the home screen with a custom icon.

For normal apps, see this question on stackoverflow.com