Join 3,558 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

MBA to make a difference
March 10, 2011 9:11 PM   Subscribe

Using a marketing MBA for world good

Okay this is a loaded question but..

I have an MBA in marketing and work in the online advertising business. My goal is to use my MBA to make a difference in the world. Tall order? maybe

My interest lie in

1) helping eradicate poverty in impoverished nations or
2) helping the old/senior in nations where there is considerable poverty or where they have been largely ignored
3) fighting against animal cruelty

I really need input here as I am at my wits end as to how i can use my business degree to achieve these goals. My heroes are folks of the Grameen foundation but to do any such work I would need a finance degree and I am terrible at finance.

Not sure how my online advertising experience can be channelized. Going back to school is not an option

I really want to make a difference in old and poor people's lives. Not sure how

All input is very welcome, if you know of foundations/others who did something similiar that would be good. Also, I am in my early 40's so dropping this life and volunteering around the world wouldnt work

Thanks everyone in advance
posted by pakora1 to Work & Money (11 answers total)

Surely the easiest solution is working in advertising for a charity that works towards one of those goals. Your objective would be to increase donations to the charity.
posted by lollusc at 10:45 PM on March 10, 2011

You have a job, you have a life. Your job is your job. Your life is making a difference in old and poor people's lives. Someday, it will be something you can do as a leader, if you want that. Sooner, perhaps it will help you find the place for a family of your own.
posted by parmanparman at 10:49 PM on March 10, 2011