Skip

Should I take a loan from my boss?
March 9, 2011 8:41 AM   Subscribe

I'm strapped for cash, and am saving up money to move to a cheaper place in a few months. My boss has offered to personally loan me money to help me move. Should I take him up on his offer?

Why I can't move now, and the current plan for saving enough money to move:

I'm a young professional in publishing, a field that pays extremely poorly at my job level, but in a job that I love. Because of recent changes in my personal circumstances, I can no longer afford my current apartment. I can cover the rent and utilities, but must scrimp and save in every other area to do so. I am doing things like washing my clothes in my bathroom and line drying them, making all meals at home, and comparison shopping and using coupons for my groceries in order to stay within my income—this kind of saving is not optional for me at this point. I don't have any unnecessary utilities or monthly expenses (no cable TV, no phone, no Netflix or anything like that) that I can cut, and I am not spending money on anything but necessities (absolutely no funds on entertainment, or eating out, and so forth). Any money not going to rent and necessities is being saved toward moving. Finding a roommate to move into my apartment is prohibited in my circumstances (and that prohibition is within the bounds of New York roommate law—I’ve consulted with a tenants rights attorney).

I want to be absolutely clear: I am at a state of maximum economy at this point. Until I move somewhere cheaper, there is nowhere else that I can save.