Join 3,425 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Considering doing a Psychology Degree. How many legit Universities offer the option to do classes both online OR in-class and if so, where can I find them?
March 1, 2011 4:54 PM   Subscribe

Considering doing a Psychology Degree. How many legit Universities offer the option to do classes both online OR in-class and if so, where can I find them? The reason I ask is because of the restrictions of my F/T job.

I'm interested in doing a Psychology degree this year or next but my job (although it will be part-time) may require me to travel on days I would need to be in school. Also there is a chance I might have to move halfway into the school year so I wouldn't want my progress to be interrupted.

I did a technical college degree two years ago and I was very disappointed with how "legit" the degree turned out to be. Also it wasn't taken very seriously in the "working world".

If you kind people could please point in the direction of resources that would be greatly appreciated as a simple Google search "psychology online degree" brings up 99% spam and mainly "pop up colleges".
posted by audio to Education (5 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

University of Houston
posted by Houstonian at 5:01 PM on March 1, 2011

Have you checked with your state university system yet? A good friend of mine just did her four-year degree almost entirely online from Western Illinois. She was also able to easily throw in some online classes from the local community college with assurance they would transfer due to agreements between the state Us and the state CCs.

Online classes have become so incredibly common it might be easier to just start your search at the nearest Directional State University and find out how far they could go in accommodating you. Probably cheaper in the end, too!
posted by Eyebrows McGee at 5:26 PM on March 1, 2011

Is this in Canada? Or any country? Does financial aid matter?