Join 3,512 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Anything new in the world of MCAT?
March 1, 2011 1:02 PM   Subscribe

I have over a year until the MCAT, what books and/or study material did you find useful for the long-haul study?

I've scoured the prior threads on the matter (particularly this one) and I was wondering if there are any new/better recommendations for study material.

Possibly relevant background detail: have already taken all the college courses, with the exception of o-chem, which will be fall '11 and spring '12. I got As in all the classes I've taken so far. Classes were a little spread out, due to working full time. By summer of '12, it will have been more than two years since I took the biology classes. I graduated in '07 in an obliquely related field and plan on finishing my second degree during my year of applying.

In particular, I'm looking for a very thorough book or set of books with lots of review and sample problems. Did you find a particular brand to be really helpful? Would buying a used older test-prep book be a mistake? (say 2008 old, not 1995 old) Did you find any other prep-material spectacularly helpful? (e.g. flashcards, computer programs, iphone apps)
posted by lizjohn to Education (8 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

My sister went through the MCAT process and scored a 33 and shes home from college so I thought I would ask her what she did to get what she got. :)

She recommends getting 2 books. The first was the Kaplin set and the second is Exam Krackers. She said that you should start with Exam krackers because it give you a good overview of the test, then the Kaplin set goes into detail over certian things. If either of the books came out in the last 4 years, there fine.