Recording loud concerts with minimal gear?
February 22, 2011 3:41 PM   Subscribe

I've got a good video-capable DSLR camera, and a good external microphone for it. But when I'm at concerts, the audio is blown out. Help?

There are a couple of existing questions out there on MeFi that cover general "How can I get good audio for my camera" issues. I'm looking to solve a specific problem: my Canon 5DmkII and accompanying Rode video mic do a great job unless I'm near a loud audio source, like a speaker at a concert. Are there any intermediary boxes I can hook up between the mic and the camera that will compress the audio? Am I asking for the impossible?

I'm new to this side of things, after spending a lot of time with still photography, and I'm hoping that the MeFi hivemind knows some tricks that can help...
posted by verb to Technology (14 answers total) 4 users marked this as a favorite

Well I mean if you're recording concerts and potentially roaming around, close to speakers, or near a cheering crowd, you don't want to be recording on-board anyway. And I'm not an audio expert but I don't think compression addresses a blown-out recording. The Zoom H4N is a popular standalone, multitrack recorder that a lot of people use with the 5D.
posted by phaedon at 3:52 PM on February 22, 2011

phaedon, that might well be the issue. I'm inexperienced enough with this side of things that I'm almost certainly doing things wrong. I'm using an external mic, but the camera is definitely doing the actual recording. Recording external audio mean mixing the audio and video together after the fact, right?
posted by verb at 3:55 PM on February 22, 2011

What firmware are you on? v. 2.0.4 on (I think it's on 2.0.8 now) should allow you to adjust audio levels. Try some tests with the mic and see if that makes any difference, if you haven't already. Do you have any samples we could listen to/watch?
posted by therewolf at 3:55 PM on February 22, 2011