Skip

Art Fundamentals 101 for a quilter
February 21, 2011 6:37 AM   Subscribe

I need Art Fundamentals 101 -- what books should I get? I need to learn more about color (mixing, harmony, schemes), value, composition, and perspective. The trick is that I will not (primarily) be applying what I learn to any particular painting medium but rather to quilt art. What books can help me study me the fundamentals of art?

I am a quilt artist and I am moving from traditional quilting to more abstract and representational work. I am also starting to dye and paint fabric for my work. I don't really do other kinds of art and I don't draw well but I do use watercolors and acrylics in my sketch book when I do studies...

I have no formal training as an artist and because of my schedule (I have young children, my husband travels) it is very difficult for me to take local art classes. I need some good books that explain basic art concepts such as value, composition, shading, perspective and color theory. It would be especially helpful if the books had specific exercises to practice those skills. I have looked on Amazon and at a LBS but there are so many books and I am not sure which ones are worth the $$.

Help me out... what books would help me learn the fundamentals of art theory and practice?
posted by LittleMy to Media & Arts (11 answers total) 19 users marked this as a favorite

This is such a tough question because I have read some real stinkers of art instruction books over the years. At the same time, I have had real life teachers that taught me little (and I go to an art college!) I don't have any general art instruction books though...just several good colour pencil references.

You might want to check out Drawspace which has free and good tutorials on value, composition, shading, perspective and colour theory. You can download the lessons as PDFs.

It's also possible that you could recruit a local artist or art student to teach you. Have fun!