Join 3,433 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Tags:

Name my blog babby
January 28, 2011 12:42 PM   Subscribe

Help me name a blog.

I'm a research scientist (ecologist/R geek/hierarchical data modeler) and I've finally decided it's time for me to start blogging about tools, techniques, publications related to the aforementioned topics .

Can you help me think of a domain hack using the following keywords:

R, Ecology, Data, Data Science, Time Series, Modeling, Bayesian 1. I've played around with domai.nr but can't think of anything but the obvious ones (e.g. I thought I could do r.ecolo.gy but that domain is taken) .

1. Although I will cover some Bayesian topics, I'd rather not have that in the title since it won't be the main focus
posted by special-k to Computers & Internet (15 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

I don't know much about what kind of URL is available with a blog domain hack: is there any option to put characters after the first slash? For instance: d.at/a
posted by John Cohen at 1:01 PM on January 28, 2011

(Actually, d.at/a doesn't work anyway -- sorry.)
posted by John Cohen at 1:03 PM on January 28, 2011

domai.nr says that timeseri.es is available.
posted by John Cohen at 1:04 PM on January 28, 2011 [1 favorite]

I've noticed that single character domain names are very difficult to get in any TLD.
posted by special-k at 1:05 PM on January 28, 2011

You may also want to give werdmerge.com a try, I've found it helpful when trying to come up with clever domain names.
posted by hummercash at 2:00 PM on January 28, 2011

inundate + data from werdmerge = inundata
domai.nr says inundata.net/org are available as well as inund.at/a (but I find that domain to be a bit hard to remember and type)
posted by hummercash at 2:16 PM on January 28, 2011 [2 favorites]

What domain suffix will you buy? Will you want to shell out extra money for an out of country domain, or are you going to stick with .com?