Join 3,512 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

I'm a military member who's looking for a cheap way to vacation in Japan for about a week.
April 19, 2005 10:47 AM   Subscribe

I'm a military member who's looking for a cheap way to vacation in Japan for about a week.

I'm a junior officer, and I just want a personal vacation; I wouldn't be taking anyone with me. I know about Space-A, etc, but the documentation available for it is less-than-helpful and I really want to cut my spending as much as possible. Who should I contact? Is there anything else I should consider? What's this I hear about a rail pass that's only available to visitors? This is the first time I've ever tried to take advantage of any of my military benefits, I just don't know how to use them efficiently. Also, I was planning on visiting Tokyo and Kyoto for a few days each and maybe going down as far as Okinawa, but the rest of my schedule is still unclear; are there any other must-see areas you can think of that would fit in such a compressed timeframe?
posted by mystyk to Travel & Transportation around Japan (10 answers total)

Is there anything else I should consider?

Dunno if you've done it, but as someone who did it a few times as a kid:

Riding in the back of a Herky-Bird sucks. Unless maybe those new ones with the 8- or 6-blade props are nicer?
posted by ROU_Xenophobe at 11:03 AM on April 19, 2005

Japan Rail Pass
Cheap accommodations
posted by planetkyoto at 11:28 AM on April 19, 2005