Join 3,524 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Help me with some PlayTime Learning Activities For Puppies!
January 27, 2011 6:58 PM   Subscribe

I've been raising dogs for most of my life but this is my first time having a solo large breed puppy in an urban environment.

Please give me some ideas to use our play time together with useful games and play to satisfy her very inquisitive puppy mind. FWIW she's half Dudley Lab and by the size of her head and paws probably half St. Bernard.

She's not a pain in the ass or anything, hasn't destroyed any furniture or clothes, but she's a keen pup and I'd like to give her as many positive and educational experiences as I can.
posted by snsranch to Pets & Animals (7 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

A huge piece for me and the Siberian Husky pup was a lot of socialization with both other dogs and with people, she goes to work with me (a lucky situation for us). We spent a lot of time in obedience classes, and significant time with ongoing training and practice on basic commands. And, lots and lots of exercise (Dog park, running, walks, fetch).

She's a wonderful companion, pretty well behaved, loves other dogs and people... and, today, took my chicken sandwich off my desk when I turned away... I went without lunch.
posted by HuronBob at 7:31 PM on January 27, 2011 [2 favorites]

My dog loves to play hide and go seek with toys. I ask her to sniff a toy, and then sit and stay in a room in the house while I hide the toy somewhere. She then looks all over until she finds it. We started slow, of course, by putting the toy right in front of her, pointing at it, and saying, "go get your toy!" until she picked it up, which got a treat reward. I then progressed to pointing to the general area of the room where I hid it. Now, searching for it seems to be a reward on its own. It's a great exercise in a number of basic dog skills, and seems to be an engaging challenge for her.