Skip

Manga suggestions?
January 25, 2011 4:56 PM   Subscribe

Graphic novels, manga collections?

I am a college librarian. I want to purchase some sets of graphic novels and manga sets for my college library. I am looking for teen or adult (but not too salacious) collections. If the books are in English, Japanese or Spanish, that would be good. I would also like sets or series, that can be purchased all at once. Any recommendations?
posted by fifilaru to Education (18 answers total) 7 users marked this as a favorite

Have you reached out to students and asked what their favorite series are? It could be a springboard in getting your collection started. When I was working in the YA section of a public library we'd get requests all the time, and that's what helped us develop our collection of items that would be sure to circulate.
posted by Anima Mundi at 5:00 PM on January 25, 2011 [1 favorite]

Great Graphic Novels for Teens from the ALA.
posted by MonkeyToes at 5:22 PM on January 25, 2011

Well I can't talk to Manga, but if I was in your shoes I'd try to get things in the (emerging, subject to heavy debate) Graphic Novel canon to start: Watchmen, The Sandman Series, Maus, mixed in with stuff like Ghost World, Black Hole, and some Chris Ware. I always think Seth's stuff get overlooked in these lists and pure fun stuff like Kyle Baker inever gets enough love, plus you have more domestic or down to earth stuff like Stuck Rubber Baby or Fun Home, both are great.

My views tend to line up with Bob's here, and he also does Manga and Spanish language stuff so that's a plus. But it is a tricky question cause some of these series are long - if it came down to From Hell Or Sin City, I'd probably pick From hell cause I think it's richer and more interesting but Sin City might be more popular ...and stuff like Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World have just finished and are now available as sets.