Skip

Retrieving a novel from 3.5 inch diskettes
January 14, 2011 11:32 AM   Subscribe

Hivemind, I have some 3.5 in diskettes containing files created on a Tandy word processor. I've tried accessing the disks on both a pc and a mac with the same result: the computer asks me if I would like to format the disk. I would like to: Transfer the files off of the disk. Recover text from an unknown filetype. Know of any software on Mac Classic, Windows or (possibly) Linux that could help me accomplish either of these? PS - This is my first time querying the hive, so please let me know if I'm doing it wrong.
posted by drzz to Computers & Internet (7 answers total)

Do you know what the exact model of the word processor was? How old was it?

It most likely formatted its disks in some proprietary format that modern PCs/Macs can't read, and probably that format is so obscure that nobody these days can be bothered to write a conversion tool (it's a lot of work!). But it's hard to say for sure without knowing more about the original word processor.
posted by xil at 11:39 AM on January 14, 2011

First guess (linux)

First -- make sure the write protect tab is enabled so you don't format the disk by mistake with a mis-click.

Next, attempt a raw disk copy. This will create an image of the disk in a file if the disk is readble.
# dd if=/dev/fd0 of=floppy.img

Look to see if there's anything recognizeable as text within the file, or not (expect a lot of junk)
# strings floppy.img

If you see anything of interest, you can start to slice and dice the file. Success would depend on that word processor saving the contents of the files in a format that's semi human readable. You *might* be able to recover the text, but I wouldn't expect to recover any of the formatting.

If you know the model of that tandy word processor you might be able to find more information about the file and disk format to offer more options for recovery.