Skip

Tea nerds: question about heating water for tea
January 11, 2011 7:58 PM   Subscribe

I'm just getting started drinking actual good loose tea. At the fancy-shmancy tea store they looked at me like I had two heads when I suggested microwaving the water to heat it for tea. The scoffed and said that microwaving "flattens the water molecules." This is crap, right? Heating is heating, no?
posted by spifl to Food & Drink (40 answers total) 9 users marked this as a favorite

Yes, it's crap.

Regardless of the physics behind it, prepare two servings of tea - one with "traditionally" heated water, another with microwaved water. Bring them to the store and ask them to sample the tea, identifying the heat source used for each. Draw your own conclusions.

Or, do what tastes best to you.
posted by HannoverFist at 8:03 PM on January 11, 2011 [2 favorites]

"Flattening the molecules" sounds like bunk, but microwaved hot water does have a noticeably funky taste if you normally boil it on a stovetop.
posted by oinopaponton at 8:04 PM on January 11, 2011 [11 favorites]

It doesn't do anything to the water molecules but it might change the oxygen content of the water, which apparently can change the flavour of the resulting tea. Boiling it in a jug or kettle then pouring it into the cup aerates the water, which you don't get from microwaving. Also the act of pouring over the leaves kind of stirs them up and helps the flavour come out. This is also why some people will say not to reboil the water, use fresh each time.

Tea definitely goes nasty if you microwave the whole thing once the milk is added, don't do that. But personally I don't notice a difference if I only use the microwave to heat the water then still pour it over the tea leaves, although I imagine the people at my tea shop would recoil in horror too. I also don't measure my tea but do it by eye *gasp*, they get hung up over weird things.
posted by shelleycat at 8:04 PM on January 11, 2011 [6 favorites]