Join 3,562 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

To accept or not to accept?
December 30, 2010 3:55 PM   Subscribe

I've received a linkedin invitation from someone I have never met and have a dubious connection with. I'm relatively new to linkedin myself, so I'm not sure of the etiquette in this situation.

This past summer I completed a three-month design internship at a large organization. I worked online with individuals from many different areas inside the company, and it is possible that I have forgotten some of their names.

However, I just received an invitation to join the network of someone who I am certain I've never met. The invitation was worded in a way that made it sound as though we'd worked together, but he's located across the country and there really is no conceivable way we worked together. His linkedin profile is a little odd-- no work experience, graduated from University of Nigeria in the '70s, says he's a general surgeon and scientist-- and so on.

Since I'm new to the professional world and linkedin, what is the best response? I don't have that many linkedin connections myself, so is it best to just accept the invitation and bulk up my connections list? Or is it best to be cautious about accepting invitations on linkedin?
posted by lockstitch to Work & Money (12 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

Ignore it! Accept invitations from people whom you know. And a lot of people limit them to only people in their field.
posted by jgirl at 3:59 PM on December 30, 2010 [2 favorites]

Just ignore it.
posted by tel3path at 3:59 PM on December 30, 2010

People have different strategies. Some people accept everyone and reach out to everyone. (They put LION - Linked In Open Network or something) in their description.