Dating 101: moving on to the second date
December 13, 2010 3:23 PM   Subscribe

For once a first date that went well - what do I do next?

Somewhat of a dating newbie here looking for advice navigating the early stages of dating. We met online about a month ago, did the standard messaging thing, first date (get-together for drinks) was supposed to be last week. She texted me that day saying that she had to cancel due to work, we reschedule for this past weekend. Due to her currently busy work schedule, we settle on going out for drinks last night (Sunday).

The date goes surprisingly well, at least compared to most of my past experiences - incredibly good conversation and we seem to have some degree of physical chemistry (or at least I think we might). Best I can tell she seemed interested, but was still kind of sizing me up, asking lots of questions, etc. Surprisingly there was zero awkwardness during the entire date, except for when we parted ways (I went for a hug, she went for a handshake, we settled on a "goodbye" wave).

I didn't get the chance to make plans for another date before I left, but did ask in a somewhat dorky fashion "maybe we can get together again sometime?" to which I think she answered "yeah, definitely" as she was leaving. I was going so text her something like "hope you got home safe" when I got back, but I was busy last night and forgot (I know that's bad, but her and I have both been really busy lately).

So how/when should I follow up? Since the holidays are coming up, I'd like to try for this weekend if possible. Is tonight too soon to make plans for this weekend (considering it's Monday and we just went out last night) or should I wait another day or so? And what's the best way to contact her? I'm assuming calling is better than texting in this situation.

Oh, and on a side note - I'm open to second-date ideas in the D.C. area...I'm thinking holiday lights at the White House or Zoo followed by dinner, weather-permitting.