Skip

The best boxer briefs in the universe
December 9, 2010 9:18 AM   Subscribe

I'm looking to buy new men's boxer briefs. Please recommend me some fantastic ones that are comfortable on someone who (sorry for the image) tends to sweat a good amount and has a fair amount of hair on the parts involved.

The cotton ones I have now sometimes feel wet. I also have ones that are 90% cotton and 10% spandex, which aren't all that comfortable, as they grab on to my thigh hairs. So please let me know if you think your recommendation has a spandex-like texture.

Has anyone tried the Ex Officio Give-and-Go boxer briefs I'm always hearing about?

Another person on another AskMe post said Patagonia active underwear was the way to go. Can someone else confirm?

Any tips on how to get them cheaply would also be appreciated.
posted by Busoni to Clothing, Beauty, & Fashion (16 answers total) 11 users marked this as a favorite

I have no personal experience, but a few years ago my brother-in-law bought about a dozen different brands to test them all and his all-time favorites are the Under Armour brand.
posted by shornco at 9:37 AM on December 9, 2010

I love the Patagonia ones, and I keep meaning to try out some of the merino wool options from companies like Ibex and Icebreaker.

To get 'em cheaply, keep an eye out for discontinued colors from big outdoor sellers (Altrec, Backcountry.com, REI Outlet, etc.), use Google shopping to see the offerings from smaller retailers, visit the manufacturers' websites for sales, check out Sierra Trading Post and keep an eye on eBay.

Even after you do all this, they'll still be relatively expensive. But they'll last a very long time.
posted by box at 9:48 AM on December 9, 2010

Sierra Trading Post has a small selection of boxer briefs with user ratings about stuff like moisture-wicking. They are usually a good source for discounts on good brands.
posted by crush-onastick at 9:50 AM on December 9, 2010