Join 3,572 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Tags:

How can I get my normal voice back?
November 8, 2010 6:27 PM   Subscribe

Has anyone lost their voice and it's taken weeks for it to sound normal again?

I was sick with a sinus infection in mid September... I lost my voice for 3 days. Since then it has not been fully normal, I've been somewhat plagued with the 'man voice' (I'm female haha) I'm a elementary teacher so I can't just rest it and not talk, sadly that's not an option in my field. Just wondering if anyone else has experienced this....

Some background: 3 years ago I was sick with a sinus infection and lost my voice for 16 days, yes 16! Took a full month for my voice to be normal after it came back. Since then whenever I have a sinus infection I tend to lose it for 1-3 days. Never this long though, have not had an issue with my 'normal' voice coming back since the incident 3 years ago. The solution according to various doctors is 'wait it out'. Just wondering if there is someone more I should mention to them or if anyone has experienced this and it has been a specific medical problem maybe I've missed/doctors have not thought of?

Any advice is appreciated, ty in advance!
posted by bluehermit to Health & Fitness (14 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

Potentially chronic laryngitis. Did any of the doctors rule that out?
posted by jedicus at 6:51 PM on November 8, 2010

I once had a respiratory infection, and it took me about a year to fully recover.
posted by chicago2penn at 6:52 PM on November 8, 2010

I'm going through the same thing now. Been two months. I sing a bit, and still don't have my full range back, and I have big problems if I try to yell. It's getting better, gradually.
posted by MrMoonPie at 6:52 PM on November 8, 2010

Yep. Seems like I lose half an octave every time my voice goes away. Started life as a high soprano & now I'm a low alto. Only exaggerating a little.
posted by Ys at 6:56 PM on November 8, 2010