Join 3,552 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

How to save a life ♪
October 31, 2010 3:26 PM   Subscribe

How can I get permission to throw a charity event at a local (NYC) museum/attraction?

I'm a student in NYC doing a project for my marketing class. We're working with the NY Organ Donor Network to get people to register to become organ donors. We need to have 3 events minimum. We already have one completely planned that will take place near the end of the semester. One is planned for early-mid November. Both are taking place at school, but I want to do something awesome and unique because its part of a competition!

I want to totally blow this project out of the water so I thought that we should set up a table at the Bodies Exhibit at the South Street Seaport. NYODN is a great, worthy cause that ties in with the Bodies exhibit. We'll basically just try to get people seeing the exhibit to sign up and provide snacks and possibly raffles for free stuff (we'd like to get The Body Shop or Bath & Body Works to donate things and put their names on the event but we have a budget that we can use to buy things to raffle off). We were thinking that in return, we would have Bodies brochures and things at our other school events, but are open to other suggestions.