can I get paid?
October 30, 2010 1:42 PM   Subscribe

Legalfilter! My work was taken advantage of - I interned/trained for a small business but wasn't paid for any time. I asked for things to be made right, but was told to shove it. Do I go to court?

Lots of details make this a complicated mess. Check it out:

- Work is very slow here in Oregon, so I chose to take on an unpaid internship for experience and the good resume marks
- At the time I was a student, but left school during my internship
- Receiving credit for my time never worked out, as I found the internship outside of school and my school had a dismal internship program
- Thus, I worked for a few months without any formal agreement for credit or formal agreement as a trainee

As the weeks passed, it became clear that my time was depended upon, and I was more-or-less an employee at this business. I was one of several interns, none paid, all doing work identical to what the paid employees did. Only a few people were paid at the business, and it seems "intern" labor drove the bulk of daily operations.

I asked for pay repeatedly, only to be told maybe "later in the year." Finally, paid work came my way - a few shifts were worked, and suddenly I was removed from the work schedule. I was told my work ethic wasn't satisfactory, and that I wouldn't be getting paid shifts unless I could do more. This, after working 4-5 months for free...

From what I understand, these are the six federal criteria (taken from here) for unpaid work:

- The training given in the internship must be similar to what would be given in an educational setting, or vocational school
- The training should be for the benefit of the trainee
- The trainee's work not replace workers who are regularly paid
- The employer receives no immediate advantage from the trainees' activities, and the employer's operations may actually be impeded on occasion
- At the end of the training, the trainees are not necessarily entitled to a job