Join 3,497 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Should I, and how do I, say "no" to my unstable friend about visiting me?
October 30, 2010 1:37 PM   Subscribe

A troubled friend wants to visit with me for a couple of weeks, and is obviously very serious about it. I don't really have the time or energy to take him in, but I know his reaction won't be pretty if I say "no," and I don't know if I can handle worrying about him. (Long.)

Hi. I'm a male college student in my early 20's. I have a seriously mentally ill friend with whom I have a pretty complicated relationship. He has borderline Asperger's, is intermittently severely depressed and often displays borderline-like behavior, where he will do or threaten self-destructive things for attention or to get what he wants (consciously or not). We live on opposite coasts, but we've had extended in-person visits a few times in the past, events which he puts a great deal of weight on, because he sees it as a rare opportunity to hang out with someone like-minded and supportive and discharge the stress of his troubled family life, etc. He is about to enter a new stage of his career, which will be quite time-consuming, but over winter break he'll have an opportunity to fly out here and hang out for a couple of weeks, which he thinks may be the last opportunity for years. Of course, he really, really wants to come.

The problem is, I don't really want him to. I'm in the middle of a bunch of stressful changes in my own family life and a relatively tough school year, and as I get older I find it increasingly embarrassing to be seen around him by my friends and family. The line I'm currently giving him is, "I'm not sure yet, but I can't see anything in the way at the moment."