Skip

Pre Approve Auto Loan?
October 23, 2010 8:31 AM   Subscribe

I was "pre-approved" for my auto loan by Bank of America, what does that mean?

I am applying for my first auto-loan. I applied for the loan on Bank of America's website. I was "pre-approved" within a few minutes (with a great rate) and told a loan officer will call me on Monday to iron out the details.

1) What will the loan officer ask me on Monday?

2) Is there anything I should know before they call?

FYI: This is anonymous because I am terrified of releasing my financial details online.
posted by anonymous to Work & Money (7 answers total)

Words like "Preapproved" and "Preselected" are gimmicks to get you to open the envelope from the bank or click on the link on the web site. (I work in the credit card industry, though not for Bank of America, and I don't have anything to do with loan applications.)

Keep in mind that pre means before. "Preapproved" is supposed to make you feel special, I guess, like you got some offer that someone else didn't get. I'm not trying to dash your hopes when I say this, but all it means is you haven't been approved yet.
posted by emelenjr at 8:53 AM on October 23, 2010 [1 favorite]

Basically, you'll know how much the bank will lend you to spend on a car, so I'd imagine they'll ask if you have a car in mind already, when you expect to make a purchase, how much you'll put down, etc.

Congratulations! Good credit has its rewards.
posted by xingcat at 8:53 AM on October 23, 2010

As emelenjr points out, pre-approved really means nothing. It is a way to get the fish on the hook in the hope of landing it. You haven't been approved for a loan until you have been approved.