Join 3,512 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

How do I write off my mileage?
October 20, 2010 9:50 PM   Subscribe

Can I write off the extra driving I do for my job? If so, how do I go about doing this?

I am an itinerant instrumental music teacher (I serve 7 different schools) and do a lot of driving not just to and from school but between schools, to and from the district office to drop off instruments for repair, to music stores on the weekend to buy supplies for kids, etc. Some of this mileage is reimbursed by the school district (per our contract), but not all of it.

I understand that I can write off some or all of this mileage, if I am using my personal vehicle for work. How do I do this? I usually use Quicken Online to do my taxes, and in the past have filed a 1040EZ - so I'm not used to anything complicated around tax time. I'm willing to keep records and file a more complicated return, but I don't know where to start.

So, explaining to me as if I know almost nothing about deductions (because I don't), what do I do?

Additional info: married, live and work in Washington.
posted by rossination to Work & Money (6 answers total)

IRS 2010 Standard Mileage Rates.
posted by rhapsodie at 10:11 PM on October 20, 2010

If your mileage is extensive--and thereby the gas & expenses significant--it may be well worth your while to spend a few $$ to get professional (CPA) advice on this (yes, i get that they are scarce--my wife is a Road Scholar teaching at two schools & until recently little in the way of benefits although req'd to pay dues to 2 unions).