Join 3,564 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Who was this artist?
July 9, 2010 7:02 AM   Subscribe

I'm an illustrator looking for more material from an artist whose work I admire. The problem is -- I don't know his/her name.

I have in my resource files an old copy of a one-shot magazine called THE BAR AND PARTY GUIDE, published back in 1972 from Sirkay Publishing in LA CA. Sirkay is better known as the publisher of a bunch of soft-core photomags like Knight, Adam, and so on. Here's their page on vintagegirliemags.com.

The Bar and Party Guide has some nifty 2-color half-tone cartoon illustrations by an uncredited hand. They're really good, to my eye. Sirkay presented guys like Bill Ward, but this isn't Ward. It's a real long-shot for me to ask this question here, but I'm hoping some knowledgeable MeFite will be able to tell me a) who this guy/gal was, and b) whether or not there is more of his/her work available.

If you want I will scan in and post some of the drawings.
posted by Guy_Inamonkeysuit to Media & Arts (9 answers total)

We will definitely need scans of the art in order to identify the artist.
posted by Thorzdad at 7:27 AM on July 9, 2010

http://www.alsirois.com/2009/ArtAndDesign/barPartyGuide.html
posted by Guy_Inamonkeysuit at 7:59 AM on July 9, 2010

Let me know if you need more. The art is mostly full- or double-page, with some smaller vignettes.
posted by Guy_Inamonkeysuit at 8:00 AM on July 9, 2010

Try emailing this guy. It also is worth a try to ask some of the discussion groups on LibraryThing, I've good luck identifying book cover artists there before.
posted by marxchivist at 8:38 PM on July 9, 2010

Jim Linderman might be someone else to try...
posted by peagood at 9:00 AM on July 11, 2010

Thanks, marxchivist -- I emailed Peng but he couldn't help me.

I've emailed Linderman, peagood -- we'll see if he can help.
posted by Guy_Inamonkeysuit at 5:04 AM on July 13, 2010