Skip

getting a student loan for a part-time class
July 3, 2010 7:47 AM   Subscribe

I'm going back to school part-time for a second masters part-time (one class at a time). I'm an in-state resident, but it won't trigger for a semester, so I need to pay out of pocket for the first class. The cost is a bit much to pay out of pocket ($3000). What is the best way to finance this?

I've taken out student loans before, but it has been for full-time study and the mix of the most avantageous federal and private loans has been obvious. Most student loans (and all federal) generally requrie taht you be taking at least 6 credit hours (I'd be taking 3) - where should I look around for the best (private) financing?
posted by waylaid to Education (8 answers total)

In what time frame are you planning to pay it off? If you have decent credit an can pay it off within about 6 months, I'd just get a low or no-interest credit card offer and charge it. If it's going to take you much more than 6 months to pay it off, I'd say that you can't really afford it and that you should wait until next semester.
posted by decathecting at 8:06 AM on July 3, 2010

Please be certain that you're not jeopardizing your in-state tuition status in future semesters by taking a class now. In some states, taking a class "proves" your purpose in relocating there was to attend school.
posted by carmicha at 8:17 AM on July 3, 2010 [1 favorite]

I had private financing through Citibank's student loans and can vouch that they're not terrible - Interest rates are high, yes, but are still lower than what you'd typically get on a credit card. I'm unsure, however, whether or not they will cover students taking only one class / 3 credit hours. Unless you're worried about having your credit score dinged by having multiple "hard pulls" at this point, I'd recommend simply applying for Citibank's student loan and see if you get approved.
posted by lizzicide at 8:26 AM on July 3, 2010