Join 3,424 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Can I skip early episodes of Buffy?
June 27, 2010 10:05 AM   Subscribe

Buffy newbie here. How long before the show gets good? It does get good, right? Can I skip some of these early episodes? How many?

Whatever the opposite of trailblazer is, that's me. A decade late, I have become a huge Whedon fan. I fell head over heels for Dr. Horrible, and am now on my second or third watching of Firefly. (Still haven't seen Serenity, more because I'm saving it than anything else.) I remember back in the day, so many people raved about this Buffy show, but I never bothered to watch it because it sounded moronic. Now I'm ready to be proven wrong, but after the first three episodes, I'm not terribly impressed.
I just went through previous discussions here on Metafilter, and the constant refrain is that the early eps weren't very good. Can I skip to the good bit? When does that start? Will I miss key plot points if I skip?
posted by CunningLinguist to Media & Arts (38 answers total) 7 users marked this as a favorite

The first season is nowhere near as good as the rest of the show, but you should stick with it anyway. There's a lot of character development that you'll miss if you skip episodes.
posted by something something at 10:14 AM on June 27, 2010 [12 favorites]

Personally, I think the first season is not so good, the second season is good but not fantastic, the third season is fantastic. Third and fourth seasons are the best, and I also really like the fifth. The sixth has some great episodes (including the musical episode!), but overall I didn't like it as much, and I did not like the seventh season.