Skip

Open-source alternatives to SharePoint for small/medium businesses?
June 15, 2010 11:47 AM   Subscribe

I'm looking for an open-source alternative to SharePoint for a small workgroup. The main thing we need is reasonably robust document management/distribution, but other features (workgroup calendaring, etc.) would be useful. We're using a wiki now to distribute docs and we need better metadata, version control, etc. The solution needs to run on Linux (ideally). The obvious candidates seem to be Alfresco Community Edition or Liferay, but I have zero practical experience using or administering either. Thanks in advance, hive mind, for any tips or advice you can offer.
posted by enrevanche to Computers & Internet (5 answers total) 6 users marked this as a favorite

We've got a test site running Alfresco Community Edition and we're pretty happy with it. In some ways, it's easier to wrap your head around if you think of it as a bunch of projects connected at the core by a strong versioning API. In our environment, we found the IMAP integration nothing but a headache for users and admins. We also found that the standard Alfresco interface wasn't as well received as the Share side. The Share site works really well with the SharePoint tools in Microsoft Office and it's a little easier for our users to wrap their heads around. Make sure you install the vti-module for SharePoint Protocol support.

Administration isn't too bad if you've got a decent background in Java Servers/Tomcat. Almost all of our headaches getting off the ground were related to trying to get a packaged version running and when we gave up on that and went with their linux installer, everything went a lot smoother.
posted by advicepig at 12:16 PM on June 15, 2010