Building maintenance staff tipping? (Non-holiday related)
June 15, 2010 11:04 AM   Subscribe

Building maintenance staff tipping? (Non-holiday related)

I live in a large, apartment building (1000+ residents) with a staff of salaried, unionized doormen / porters / handymen, plus a building manager. I'm a very low-maintenance resident and have never been sure what to do about tipping for small jobs in my apartment.

I do, of course, tip each staff member during the holidays, or if I ask them to do a personal job for me, like washing windows or changing a fixture, that itself requires an additional service charge. I usually tip between $5-$10, depending on how much work it is. But I do not tip when they do things like routine air conditioning maintenance.

But what about those occasions when I need a leaky faucet fixed, or the tub unclogged? They don't charge extra for these things, so what category would that fall under -- routine building maintenance or a personal job? Most of the time I'm not around when the job is completed, because it happens during working hours, but what if I am?

So, do I tip, and if so, how much? And if there is more than one person doing the job (they sometimes work in pairs), do I tip each of them the same amount?
posted by arbor day to Human Relations (4 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

I think tipping staff on non-holidays for routine maintenance (clogs, fixes) isn't really necessary. However, if a worker goes out of his or her way, for instance, coming in at a really odd time, or making sure that everything is cleaned up spotlessly after s/he leaves, then a tip is appropriate. Really, tipping is for above and beyond, unless someone is working in a field that relies on tips for their livelihoods.
posted by xingcat at 11:28 AM on June 15, 2010